
                    FINDING  THE  WINNING  DEFENSE 

You encounter the following defensive problem while playing in Betty Kaplan teams on 

February 20, 2007.  The Betty Kaplan teams is a marvelous event.  It is held annually in New 

York, in honor of Betty Kaplan, the wife of Edgar Kaplan who did so much for bridge.  Only 

teams of 4 are allowed to enter, and each player on the team needs to play two 9-board Swiss 

matches as partner of every other member of his team.  It creates a special harmony, and I have 

never heard of any other similar event anywhere else. 

You pick up KQ 1085 A875  J1054.  You pass as dealer, all vulnerable.  You are 

playing against very competent opponents.  Your RHO opens 1 and rebids 2.  Your LHO, 

after initially passing, bids 1 and gives a preference to 2, ending the auction.  What is your 

opening lead? 

These are the types of hands where almost anything could be right.  Leading spades could be 

right, but you might be setting up dummy's spades.  Diamonds is the unbid suit, and could be the 

winner.  Leading trumps will help keep declarer from ruffing clubs in dummy. 

It is certainly best to try to judge what the opponent's cards are, before you decide what to 

lead.  Declarer probably has 1 or 2 spades, 5 hearts, about 2 diamonds, and 4 or 5 clubs.  Dummy 

rates to have 4 or 5 spades, 2 hearts, 3 or 4 diamonds, and 1-to-3 clubs. 

Leading trumps might compromise partner's trump holding, and declarer might have someplace 

to discard his club losers, if he can't trump them in dummy. 

It may be hard for the defense to get more than one trump trick, as partner's heart honors will 

probably be in front of declarer's holding.  Perhaps you can get a trump promotion with your 

10, if you can void yourself in spades.    

So, for better or worse, you elect to lead the K.  This is the problem: 

                          Dummy 

                          A10853 

                          76 

                          QJ104 

          You          86 

KQ 

1085                You  Dummy Partner  Declarer 

A875                Pass  Pass      Pass      1    

J1054               Pass   1       Pass      2                                                                          .  

                                      Pass   2      All Pass 

  



Dummy wins the spade ace and leads a heart, partner winning the heart jack.  Partner continues 

with a small spade, and you win the spade queen.  Now what?  

What is going on?  Apparently partner has the KQJ of hearts, otherwise declarer would not have 

let partner win the first round of hearts.  It looks like declarer's most likely distributions are 

either 2-5-2-4 or 2-5-1-5.  Why isn't declarer trying to ruff some clubs in dummy?  Does declarer 

have some place to discard them, or does he believe that it is too dangerous or unnecessary to 

ruff them?  And, if declarer has the diamond king, would he be attacking diamonds to set up 

dummy's diamonds -- even though he might not have an entry to get to use the good diamonds? 

You can judge that declarer almost certainly does not have a singleton king of diamonds.  If 

declarer held that, he would have had two different ways of playing the diamond suit - 1) lead a 

small diamond from dummy at trick 2, hoping that my partner held the ace and made the normal 

duck, or 2) lead the king from his hand later in the hand, hoping that I haven't gotten a diamond 

count yet, and that I would make the normal duck.  Of these two possible lines of play, leading 

the small diamond from dummy is the standout play.  This is because:  1) I have already shown 

up with 5HCP in spades, and therefore it is more likely that my partner has more strength in the 

other suits, 2) He has a guarantee that partner will not have a diamond count at trick 2, while 

there is no guarantee that I would not have a diamond count when he eventually led a diamond 

from his hand, and 3) declarers prefer to put the opponent's to guesses early in the hand, when 

they have less information.  So, declarer should not have a singleton king of diamonds.  

Therefore, he has either a doubleton diamond or a small singleton in diamonds. 

Which of the following hands is declarer most likely to hold?  

xx Axxxx x  AKQxx,   

xx Axxxx Kx AKxx, or  

3)xxx Axxxx x AKQx?   

Hand #1 is very consistent with his bidding and play.  With hand #2 he would have been setting 

up dummy's diamonds and then trumping a club in dummy.  With hand #3 he still probably 

would have trumped a club in dummy.   

So, if declarer has a hand like #1, what is your best defense?  Leading a diamond to partner's 

king is best.  What diamond should you lead? 

My often-preferred lead in this situation is 3rd best, to let partner gain an idea of my count in the 

suit.  In count situations, even in notrump contracts, I like to lead 3rd and 5th best.  But in non-

count situations I lead attitude.  And, my partner prefers attitude in this situation, so it is clear 

that I am underleading my honor.  In this situation, partner does not need to know my diamond 

count, and I don't want her to misread my diamond spot and not play her king.  So, after winning 

the spade queen, I lead my smallest diamond to partner's king.  She didn't know if I began with 3 

or 4 diamonds, as from her perspective, declarer could have held only 4 clubs (the AKQJ).  So, 

she led the spade jack, which still guaranteed the trump promotion even if declarer discarded a 



small diamond because she would have continued with her last spade.  When declarer ruffed the 

spade jack, I overruffed and I got out my last trump.  The defense scored 3 heart tricks, 1 spade 

trick, 1 diamond trick, and 1 club trick, beating the contract 1 trick. 

It can be hard to be confident enough to underlead the diamond ace against bad declarers, who be 

more random in their lines of play.  But I had the advantage that this declarer is very competent, 

and it was almost a certainty that he didn't have a singleton king of diamonds.  It was fun to find 

the winning defense. 

  This was the entire hand: 

                                             Dummy 

                                            A10853 

                                            76 

                                            QJ104 

                         You            86                   Partner 

KQ                                     J962 

1085                                   KQJ 

A875                                  K962 

J1054         Declarer           93                                                                                                      

.                                         74 

                                             A9432 

                                             3 

                                             AKQ72 

Note, this hand was featured in the NY Times bridge column on February 20, 2007.  A copy of 

the column will appear at this website in the section "about Jeff". 


